Series That Got Better

Top 5 Wednesday is hosted over at this goodreads group, and involves, obviously, listing the top five… something. This week’s topic is series that took a while to get into, but were worth the long haul. I only have four to list this week, mostly because usually if I don’t like the first book of a series, I won’t finish it. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

series that got better.png

Harry Potter
by J.K. Rowling

I’ll be honest, I saw the movies before reading the books, and I like the movies better. I only pushed through the books to say that I had read them. And they did get better as they went, but the first four were not good. Her naming convention irritates me, and you could tell she was a new writer. I guess the story must have been captivating, and if I hadn’t already known it, I might have liked them more. Or if I had been twelve. Who knows.

Redwall
by Brian Jacques

Redwall wasn’t bad. I in fact quite liked it. But it wasn’t my favorite of the series, which is why it made it onto this list. I don’t think I read them in order—I read them in the order the library had them available—but Marlfox and Taggerung were always my favorites of the series. Whichever one had the giant snake in it gave me nightmares.

A Song of Ice and Fire
by George R.R. Martin

I actually loved these from the start. But the biggest complaint I hear is that there’s too much to keep track of, which is true. But that’s also what makes it so interesting. Because it’s written in such a way that it’s totally possible to keep track of all the characters, or at least all the important ones. And it does get easier as you go on. By the third book, you’ll have everyone more or less straight.

The Mortal Instruments / The Infernal Devices
by Cassandra Clare

Okay, so I’m kind of cheating with this one. They’re technically two separate series, but since they’re related and The Mortal Instruments came out first, and The Infernal Devices  is better once you’ve read The Mortal Instruments… I’m justifying it in my head. The Infernal Devices were just all around a better series than The Mortal Instruments, even though I loved them both. Probably had something to do with the lack of will they, won’t they incest.

I got better.gif

What did you think of these series?

2 comments

  1. Well, this awkward. I’ve started most of these (or have intentions to), but I’ve only finished the Harry Potter series. I’m glad to hear the others get better. Maybe I’ll give them all another chance! 🙂

  2. I love series that just get better and better!! I agree with HP (haven’t read the other two). Also the Percy Jackson series, the Ruby Red trilogy, the Red Queen books, and the Throne of Glass books (although to be fair in only on book 2 so far but it’s amazing)!

Leave a Reply

