Best Film or Television Adaptation

Heeeere’s Fandom Friday! (Bet you think I’m going to talk about The Shining. I’m not. I’ve never read the book nor seen the movie. I know, I know. It’s on my list.) Anyway, Fandom Friday is a linkup hosted by The Fangirl Initiative that provides some kind of fandom prompt every Friday. This week’s is the best film or television adaptation, which is going to be harder than I thought it was to choose just one.

I know it won’t be The Mortal Instruments, because the film adaptation of that sucked, and then the show sucked even harder. Poor Cassie Clare.

So… I’ll try to narrow it down to the best film and the best television show. Because there’s just no comparing both. Goodness. What do they think I am, some kind of decisive person? Sheesh.

The best film adaptation, I think, or at least one of the best, and one I don’t see getting enough love, is The Martian. For some reason, best-selling books never seem to get any credit when they’re turned into well-made movies. I love fantasy as much as (okay, more than) the next person, but I also appreciate any job well done. Granted, I did see the film before I read the book, which always makes me more sympathetic to the film, but I even kept that in mind while I read, and the movie was a really faithful adaptation of the book. There was less swearing, of course, to keep a PG-13 rating, but the humor, the spirit, the events—it was all there. And Matt Damon was the perfect choice for Mark. Just… perfect. And I don’t even like Matt Damon that much.

Of course there are many, many, many other good film adaptations, but I’m being good and sticking with just one. Now for television. Oh gosh.

Okay, fourth season notwithstanding, I’m going to have to say Sherlock here. It’s well-made, it’s smart and quick, and it captures the spirit of Arthur Conan Doyle’s stories in a modern setting in a way that most other updated adaptations don’t. It’s as if the creators simply took the stories, dumped them in the 21st century, and let them do their own thing. Which is brilliant, and something I one day hope to accomplish. (Of course, the entire fourth season was a train wreck, and not even the kind you want to watch, but I’m pretending it doesn’t exist.)

Are either of these your favorites?

Side note: The Fangirl Initiative is also hosting a summer reading challenge with prizes, and one of the categories is a book that inspired a movie or show. Why not check out one of these?

4 comments

  1. I haven’t read The Martian OR seen the movie. I like Sherlock, except for season four (of course). I always say Holes is one of the best book-to-movie adaptations in existence, but Catching Fire and A Series of Unfortunate Events (TV show) were pretty great too. I’m sure there are plenty of others that can pass–and many that shall not be discussed!

  2. I definitely agree with this! The Martian was such a faithful adaptation and I really enjoyed it. I haven’t read much Sherlock, so I sadly can’t speak to that, but the TV series is definitely a classic!

  3. I loved the Martian (although I’ve never read the book, so I can’t say its the best adaptation because I don’t have all the facts), and I also loved Sherlock (although, again, haven’t read the books… oops…)!!!!
    For me, as far as adaptations go, I think the HP series was done very well, although the films were still missing a lot of great parts. I thought Hoot was done very well (pretty much stuck to the book exactly!) and I loved Me Before You, both the book and the movie.
    Also, although I haven’t read the books, Nicholas Sparks movies are my guilty pleasure.

    1. You should definitely check out The Martian! Totally worth reading. The HP series were definitely done well—I actually liked the first four movies better and the last three books better. (I know, liking the movies better is blasphemy. Oops.) I haven’t gotten around to reading Me Before You yet, but it’s on my list!

Leave a Reply

