Beautiful People: Author Edition

Beautiful People is a monthly linkup hosted by Sky and Cait, aimed at getting to know your characters better. This month’s edition is author-focused, so you get to know more about me! Yay! Just what a personal blog that consists of mostly me ranting and giving my opinions needs. Ahem. Anyway.

beautiful people graphic

How do you decide which project to work on?

Usually by mood, to be honest. I’ll work fervently on the same project until I get bored of it, and then move on to either something I’ve already started or start something completely new. Sometimes I’ll switch between two different projects, just to keep the creative juices flowing; when I was writing my strictly-structured YA thesis, I would take time when I didn’t have to work on it and write the opposite, which is how I started one of my favorite projects, a not-at-all structured adult I-don’t-even-know-what-it-is. But it has a pinochle tournament, a lizard, and somebody who looks like a mixture of Tom Selleck and Yanni, if you needed any further proof that I can’t write a normal story.

How long does it usually take you to finish a project?

Hah. Depends on the project, I guess. I wrote the first and second drafts of a novel in a little over a year, and have been working on a couple short stories for years. Poems take an afternoon, but short essays will leave me agonizing and editing for weeks. One of my current WIPs is going a lot quicker than I thought it would, though, which is nice.

Do you have any routines to put you in the writing mood?

Write. Coffee. I don’t know if those count as a routine, though, because it’s pretty much just the repeating pattern of my entire life.

What time of day do you write best?

Depends on what I’m writing. Two in the morning makes for quantity and philosophic or humorous quality, nine or ten in the morning makes for actual plot quality, though quantity proves harder. Otherwise I just write when I have time. You know, when I’m not writing all day at work.

Are there any authors you think you have a similar style to?

J.D. Salinger. C.S. Lewis. Jane Austen. George Saunders. Douglas Adams. Neil Gaiman.

Why did you start writing, and why do you keep writing?

I don’t know. To both of those.

I started writing whenever school made me start writing. I started a novel in high school, I think? But I started majorly writing after becoming a writing major in college. Nothing like deadlines to get you started on something.

I keep writing because I have a job that pays me to write. Also because I was trained in the ways of a writer, so I see everything through the eyes of a writer. Sick, don’t you think? I can never un-train myself. I guess I enjoy it, in some weird way. But in the way C.S. Lewis said of Christianity, I see writing as I see the sun has risen, not because I see it, but because by it, I see everything else.

What’s the hardest thing you’ve written?

My thesis. A 200-page modern YA retelling of Wuthering Heights, along with a 20-some page analysis of how to write a retelling and what goes into a retelling, and what other retellings exist in the world. Etc. All the research was soul-crushing, and the deadlines and other drama associated with it made me want to die. But I finished it. And I got an A. And an honors degree. So eff you, academia.

Is there a project you want to tackle someday but you don’t feel ready yet?

Editing my thesis and turning it into an actual, publishable novel. I’m thinking maybe I’ll tackle that later this year, or next summer. Or at least try to. Without crying.

What writing goals did you make for 2017 and how are they going?

I wanted to keep my blog updated, and really I just wanted to keep writing. I didn’t set any concrete goals, because I was still figuring out a balance of work and life, but I think I’m doing pretty well so far.

Describe your writing process in 3 words or a gif!

wednesday addams poison

So that’s me. Now back to trying to hit my Camp NaNo goal, because I didn’t write for like five days. Oops. (Well, I wrote. Just not that. I’m never not writing, it seems.)

How are your Camp NaNo projects going? Care to commiserate?

4 comments

  1. C.S. Lewis is arguably my all time favorite author to have ever existed, so if you write anything like him, I commend you. And Douglas Adams is hilarious.
    You have a job that pays you to write??? (I will try not to strangle you across cyber-space from jealousy. I’m a nice person.)
    A Wuthering Heights retelling sounds interesting! Retellings in general tend to pique my curiosity. I love delving into a story from a new angle.
    I participated in Beautiful People for this prompt too! You can check out my post on my blog if you care to peruse the process (or lack thereof) of a struggling sponge.
    Good luck writing!

    https://thestorysponge.wordpress.com/2017/07/17/beautiful-people-26-author-writing-process-edition/

  2. I’m working towards a writing degree myself. That thesis sounds intense!

    I’m doing Camp this month too. I was behind for a while, but have caught up. I’m considering lowering my goal though because I have finals later this month and don’t want to stress myself too much.

    1. That’s awesome! I wish you the best of luck. Hah. The thesis was rough, but I’m glad I did it. It proved to me that I could write a novel, which is a cool thing to pull out when I feel like I’m getting nowhere with my writing.

      Kudos on catching up! I haven’t quite made it, but I’m getting closer. Finals are definitely a thing you don’t want to be extra stressed out for, though.

Leave a Reply

