My Favorite Fandom

Fandom Friday is a linkup hosted by The Fangirl Initiative, getting fangirls everywhere to talk about what they love. They post a topic every Friday, and this week’s is favorite fandoms.

So, I’m not totally sure if this counts as a fandom, because I haven’t yet found my people, but my favorite fandom has to be indie films. Those wonderful dramedies that are so full of life and heart are my go-to when I don’t want to face the world anymore.

But maybe that’s the beauty of our fandom: We’re meant not to interact. Indie films are usually ones that beg to be watched alone. They’re not often date night movies, and they’re even less often girls’ night movies… they’re you movies. They’re movies that speak to your soul. And that just can’t be shared with other humans in any kind of tangible way.

But, in the sake of full disclosure, because I’m still not really sure if that’s a fandom, my close second favorite would have to be the Lord of the Rings fandom. The people are wonderful, the fan-made products are amazing, and the stories themselves are phenomenal. I own all the books, all the movies, and have enjoyed them more times than I can count. I’m pretty sure there was actually a point in my life at which I could quote the entirety of the extended edition Fellowship of the Ring movie.

If you’re one of my people there, here are some of my favorite Tolkien people to follow:

Tea with Tolkien
Collect Tolkien
On This Day in LOTR
A Dangerous Business Travel Blog

Hope you enjoy some of these! Are you a Tolkien person? Would you recommend any other Tolkien blogs/instagrams/twitters?

Or, dare I ask it, is anyone else out there an indie film fangirl?

Leave a Reply

