Top 5 Children’s Books

Top 5 Wednesday is hosted over at this goodreads group, and involves, obviously, listing the top five… something. This week’s topic is children’s and middle-grade books, which I’m super excited for. It’s been too long since I’ve returned to my favorite childhood books. And I’ve recently come to appreciate some children’s books that I didn’t get to read as a child. So, here goes.

top 5 childrens books.png

The Chronicles of Narnia
by C.S. Lewis

No list of children’s books would be complete without the books I either read or had read to me more times than I can count. C.S. Lewis is still one of my favorite writers, and I hope one day I can write children’s books half as well. I mean, “There was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it.” Sorry, Jane, but this is better than the first line of Pride and Prejudice.

A Wrinkle in Time
by Madeleine L’Engle

I actually only read this book this year, but more children’s books (and all books, really) need to be like this one. There are active and involved parents, a girl who’s not perfect but doesn’t spend all her time focused on it, a girl who’s good at math, a boy who’s good at sports and also nice with a solid backstory, theology, philosophy, and just an all-around good story. It’s great.

Six by Seuss
by Dr. Seuss

Is this cheating? Including six stories in one? This was my favorite of the Dr. Seuss books I owned, because the mooing Mr. Brown creeped me out as a child for some reason. Anyway, this includes many of the classics: The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins, The Lorax, Yertle the Turtle, And To Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street, Horton Hatches the Egg, and How the Grinch Stole Christmas. So good.

Jethro and Joel Were a Troll
by Bill Peet

To be honest, I don’t remember anything about this story, other than the fact that I loved it. It’s basically about a two-headed troll, one head a good farmer and the other a terrorizer, and the bad head gets to lead for a day. I saw it in a Goodwill not too long ago, which is what made me think of it, but it was in such bad shape that I didn’t buy it. I need to read it again.

“The Magic of the Holidays”
by Ann D. Hardy

So, fun fact, a google search of this won’t bring anything up. It’s a short story in Buddy’s Favorite Christmas Stories and Poems by the staff of My Weekly Reader, published in 1981, and it was one of my favorite childhood books. The beat-up copy we had was missing the last few pages, and so every time my dad would read it to me, I would get to make up the ending to the story. I partially credit this story for my desire to become a writer.

This list was way too hard to choose, so I must include my honorable mentions:

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs by Judi Barrett and Ron Barrett
Amelia Bedelia books by Peggy Parish
The Magic Treehouse books by Mary Pope Osborne
Matilda by Roald Dahl
The Guardians of Ga’Hoole by Kathryn Laskey
Warriors books by Erin Hunter
Nancy Drew books by Carolyn Keene

…and I’m sure I’m missing so many other good ones. Kids’ books are the best, man.

Were any of these your favorites?

3 comments

  1. NARNIA AND A WRINKLE OF TIME. YES. I love.

    And I grew up with the Magic Tree House books, so those are definitely favorites. Cloudy with a Change of Meatballs was a favorite too. I spent hours re-reading the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I blame her for my intriguing with historical-based stories. Annnd the Wings of Fire series, which I only discovered this past year, are fantastic children’s books about dragons.

    I have this picture book called Bamboozled that I always read with my grandpa. It’s a crazy story with even crazier pictures about a girl going to visit her grandpa and trying to figure out something that is wrong with her grandpa’s house. But his house is all crazy, mixed-up, and full of weird stuff (which makes for fantastic pictures). It’s strange but holds a special place in my heart. 🙂

    (Basically, there are a lot of children’s books I love. I don’t know if I could narrow it down to just 5, especially since many of them are series.)

    1. Ahh books about dragons?? I’ll have to look into that!

      Stories you associate with memories are always the best. But seriously! There are so many good ones!

      1. THE BOOKS ABOUT DRAGONS HAVE ALL TYPES OF DRAGONS. MUD DRAGONS. RIVER DRAGONS. STARRY NIGHT SKY DRAGONS. EVERYTHING. AND THEY’RE SO ADORABLE AND DORKY AND IT’S SO FUN. Worth it. Definitely worth it. Ineed to actually read the rest of the series though.

Leave a Reply

