Top 5 Books Without Romance

Top 5 Wednesday is hosted over at this goodreads group, and involves, obviously, listing the top five… something. This week’s topic is books without romance, which turned out to be a lot harder than I thought it would be. Though, granted, I thoroughly enjoy a good (or even a super cheesy) romance, so that might have contributed to my difficulty. But without further ado, here goes.

top 5 wed 7.5

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch
by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

Good Omens is just a good, old-fashioned story about losing the antichrist involving a demon and an angel with a fondness for earth, a hellhound who finds he quite likes chasing squirrels, and a Queen CD.

The Hobbit
by J.R.R. Tolkien

A hobbit, some dwarves, and a dragon. Idiotic movie subplot aside, I’m not even sure there were women in this story. Just adventure, revenge, and a relatable homebody. And a dragon.

Lincoln in the Bardo
by George Saunders

There’s a married couple in this who may or may not love each other and a few people having sex, and of course the Lincolns, but the plot of this book revolves entirely around death and the afterlife and some weird sort of purgatory. And of course a lot of sadness.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
by Mark Haddon

I love love love this book. Just a kid trying to figure out life, other people, and the death of a dog.

The Slow Regard of Silent Things
by Patrick Rothfuss

While the Kingkiller Chronicle series has a major (and kind of annoying) romantic subplot (can we see no more of Denna, please?), this novella focused entirely around Auri doesn’t. It’s sweet and perfect, just like her.

Have you read any of these?

4 comments

  1. Love how you included The Hobbit, not the other 3 in the series. I do love all of them, but The Hobbit is by far my favorite. 🙂

    1. I love all of them dearly, but Aragorn and Arwen are one of my favorite fictional couples ever (not to mention Sam and Rosie), so I couldn’t in good conscience include them all in this particular list. 🙂

      1. I totally get that. I really need to reread the series. It’s been years. The good thing is that I own them. The bad thing is that I have so many books I want to read that I haven’t read yet. Why can’t I be a quicker reader? LoL I’m getting there. Audiobooks are also a godsend.

Leave a Reply

