Lists, Lists, Lists

Searching the Internet for things to blog about is like trying to relieve your frustration by pounding on a punching bag made of memory foam. It’s useless, a little painful, and not at all satisfying. So then I remembered that’s what I started my endless A-Z challenge for. With that in mind,

L is for lists.

I already have a running list of my favorite words, so this will be a few top seven lists of whatever topics I come up with. Yay!

Current Favorite Books:

  1. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  2. Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
  3. Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams
  4. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  5. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
  6. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
  7. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Top of My TBR Pile:

  1. American Gods by Neil Gaiman
  2. Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders
  3. Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin
  4. On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  5. HOWL by Allen Ginsburg
  6. Moby Dick by Herman Melville
  7. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Favorite Authors:

  1. Douglas Adams
  2. C.S. Lewis
  3. Jane Austen
  4. George Saunders
  5. J.D. Salinger
  6. Patrick Rothfuss
  7. Lewis Carroll

Words Other People Have Used to Describe Me:

  1. quiet
  2. smart
  3. sassy
  4. piquant
  5. fortitudinous
  6. stubborn
  7. enigmatical

Things that Make Me Discount Someone’s Opinion:

  1. more than one exclamation point in a row
  2. “yummy”
  3. “om nom nom”
  4. multiple misspellings
  5. multiple grammatical mistakes
  6. “mommy blogger”
  7. Internet slang used unironically

Places I Love:

  1. New York City
  2. Playhouse Square
  3. historic Charleston
  4. Cedar Point
  5. Virginia Beach
  6. bookstores
  7. Riverbanks Zoo

Favorite Foods:

  1. homemade whipped cream
  2. raspberries
  3. brownies
  4. asiago cheese bagels
  5. olives
  6. fresh-baked bread
  7. Milky Way Midnights

Bucket List (partial):

  1. open a coffee shop
  2. make money off of professional editing
  3. publish a book
  4. start a small press
  5. visit Greece
  6. be able to successfully and consistently put together outfits
  7. write a glow-in-the-dark drum feature

Things I’ve Written (or Am Writing) that I Love:

  1. Hawke
  2. DJ Houston
  3. Red Pandas
  4. “Have You Ever Seen a Velociraptor Punch Someone in the Face?”
  5. “Charlatans”
  6. “Carousel of the Damned”
  7. Thieves of Bakkaj

Celebrities I’d Like to Meet:

  1. Josh Radnor
  2. Lin-Manuel Miranda
  3. Tom Hiddleston
  4. Robert Pattinson
  5. Mary Berry
  6. Daniel Radcliffe
  7. Emma Stone

Dead Celebrities I’d Like to Meet:

  1. C.S. Lewis
  2. J.R.R. Tolkien
  3. Dr. Seuss
  4. Jane Austen
  5. Oscar Wilde
  6. Douglas Adams
  7. David Bowie

Favorite Things to Bake:

  1. biscotti
  2. monster cookies
  3. brownies
  4. triple layer cakes
  5. macaroni and cheese
  6. pudding cookies
  7. scones

Current Favorite Fictional Characters:

  1. Magnus Bane, The Mortal Instruments
  2. Fred and George Weasley, Harry Potter
  3. Gandalf, The Lord of the Rings
  4. Mr. Darcy, Pride and Prejudice 
  5. Tony Stark, Iron Man
  6. Samwise Gamgee, The Lord of the Rings
  7. Paris Geller, Gilmore Girls

Fictional Characters I’m Most Like:

  1. Sherlock Holmes
  2. Mr. Darcy
  3. Wednesday Addams
  4. Burton “Gus” Guster
  5. Regina Mills
  6. Wolverine
  7. Data

Favorite Drinks:

  1. iced coffee
  2. dark rum
  3. iced tea
  4. bourbon
  5. chai tea lattes
  6. sparkling water
  7. herbal tea

Current Favorite Films:

  1. Pirates of the Caribbean
  2. Liberal Arts
  3. Crazy Stupid Love
  4. Ocean’s 11
  5. Adventureland
  6. Austenland
  7. Easy A

Fictional Men I’d Marry in a Heartbeat:

  1. Aragorn son of Arathorn, The Lord of the Rings
  2. Jess Mariano, Gilmore Girls
  3. Mr. Knightley, Emma
  4. Jacob Palmer, Crazy Stupid Love
  5. Matty Flamhaff, 13 Going on 30
  6. Edmund Pevensie, The Chronicles of Narnia
  7. Jake Tyler, Never Back Down

I think that’s enough lists for now, because I’m having trouble of thinking of any more. I think I’ve run my brain dry of everything that was running around in circles in it, so now maybe I can get to working on my fiction or on the book I’ve been editing for someone for almost a year now. Someday I will know how to manage my time better.

Side note: I asked a friend of mine which characters I’m most like, because I needed one more to complete the list, and, while looking up characters with similar personality types and remembering characters I’ve been told over the years, here are a few honorable mentions: Devi, from The Kingkiller Chronicles; Spock, from Star Trek; the Goblin King, from Labyrinth; Tina, from Bob’s Burgers; and Rory Gilmore, from Gilmore Girls. Those just made me giggle, so I had to share them.

Do any of these surprise you?

Leave a Reply

