A Liberal Arts Education

I’ve been a college graduate for a little over a week and so far I’ve managed to move home, almost redo my room, lay on the couch sick for a week, watch two seasons of The Fosters on Netflix, and receive a very vaguely worded rejection (probably?) from a job I applied to.

So J is not for job hunt.

Because it’s overwhelming and sad and I really don’t want to talk about it.

My face, as I search for jobs.

There aren’t many good words that start with J. I don’t really like the letter. I’m not sure why. There are plenty of good names that start with J, but very few good, deep, bloggable words. Maybe it’s just a lack of imagination on my part–that’s totally possible. My well of inspiration is running very dry.

So, with nothing better, J is for Jacques.

As in Prince Jacques, who wears aftershave to make people think that he’s older.


Can you blame him, though? Nobody’s going to take him seriously either way; he’s just trying to seem like the adult he feels like.

I get you, Prince Jacques.

Here I am, masquerading around as some kind of adult, crossing my fingers that people are going to take me seriously and not realize that I’m secretly an eight-year-old trapped in a college graduate’s body. I put on my makeup and my big girl clothes and I use fancy words to convince people I don’t regularly take time out of my day to color and nap and eat too much cake. Granted now I pair that cake with wine instead of milk, so does that make me a real adult? What’s the secret? When do you cross from “precocious” into “actual adult,” even though you feel exactly the same, possibly even less prepared than you did before you had to worry about whether you were actually prepared or not?

liberal arts adult.gif

“It’s the world’s dirty secret.”

Liberal Arts is quite possibly my favorite movie. This line is one of the reasons why. Josh Radnor looks back (realistically) on his liberal arts education and drops truth after truth in a funny/sad/beautiful way. I honestly can’t recommend this movie enough.

I guess J could be for Josh Radnor, too. He’s pretty cool. I think we’d be friends.

ted mosby ohio.gif

(His parents actually do live in Ohio. He went to college in Ohio. The same college Liberal Arts was filmed at, actually. Fun facts.)

But seriously. I love both of his movies. They speak to my soul. And he just seems like a cool, down-to-earth dude. Here’s some things he said, if you don’t believe me.

If you’re out there, Josh, we should be friends. Either way, I’m a big fan.

I’ll leave you with a few of the best quotes from Liberal Arts before I go watch it:

“I like trees because they give us books.”

Nat: Want some good news?

Jesse Fisher: Yes, please.

Nat: Caterpillars… give me my hat… they’re just scooping along, right? Being caterpillars. At some point, these cells show up, called imaginal cells. Scientists don’t know where they come from or why they appear. These imaginal cells show up inside the caterpillar and say: “Get psyched, caterpillar! It’s butterfly-turning-into time!” And what do all the other caterpillars do once these imaginal cells show up?

Jesse Fisher: I have no idea.

Nat: They attack ’em! Try to kill ’em! They’re, like: “Screw you, imaginal cells. We’re happy being a caterpillar. Get lost!” But eventually, the imaginal cells keep growing and overtake the destiny of the caterpillar. They will be in this cocoon! And then guess what happens next?

Jesse Fisher: The caterpillar turns into a butterfly.

Nat: [repeats him excitedly] The caterpillar turns into a butterfly!

“You think it’s cool to hate things and it’s not. It’s boring.”

“Fortune never smiles on those who say no.”

“Don’t be a genius who dies young. Be one who dies old. Being old is cool. Grow old, and die old. It’s a better arc.”

So yeah, watch it. Love it.

P.S. Zac Efron is in it.

zac efron wink.gif

Leave a Reply

