“I meant what I said, and I said what I meant.”

I recently saw one of those stupid Facebook pictures (you know, the ones that get passed around for a week and then forgotten completely) entitled, “Five Deadly Terms Used by a Woman.”  I’m sure you’ve seen something like it.  It listed words such as fine, nothing, and whatever as words that, when used by a woman, definitely don’t mean what you think they mean.  I’ve seen things like this before–in fact, almost exactly like this; people aren’t very creative–and they bother me every time I see them.  It might have been sort of funny the first time, but the fact that I’ve seen it as many times as I have worries me.  It’s no longer supposed to be funny, it’s supposed to be true.  And that’s sort of sick.

Not only is it advocating and perpetuating the idea that this is okay, that it’s just a part of life that women have the upper hand in all conversations and men are always a clueless step behind, that it’s perfectly acceptable for women to be deceptive and obnoxious, but it’s stereotyping all women as manipulative bitches.  And I’m not okay with this.  Any of this.

I’m a firm believer that most conflicts in romantic comedies (and a lot of other movies, too) could be solved by a little communication.  And since the funny part of a lot of movies rests in the similarities to real life, a lot of real problems could be solved by communication, too.  Starting with this picture, for instance.  If the women who inspired this picture, or the women who continuously repost it, would just communicate their problem, instead of being manipulative and snobbish, maybe a few–even just a very few–problems would disappear.  Then again, maybe not.  But I think it’s at least worth a try.

Also the picture had horrible grammar.  You can see it here.  I don’t know where the original is, but this is where I saw it.

So, I’ll leave you with the wise words of Dr. Seuss: “I meant what I said, and I said what I meant.  And elephant’s faithful, one hundred percent!”  Go be elephants.

Leave a Reply

