Motivating Myself to Motivate (Inspire, Entertain, Inform) Others

Frank Warren.  Richard Saul Wurman and Harry Marks.  Chris Wink, Matt Goldman, and Phil Stanton.  Ever heard of any of these people?  Unless you’ve done a really specific research paper recently, probably not.  But I would be willing to put money on the fact that you’ve heard of what they made.

(PostSecret, TED, and Blue Man Group, respectively.)

I can’t currently think of more examples, much to my shame and disappointment, but I know there are so many more out there.  (If you know of any, let me know in the comments!)  These guys had ideas, put them into action, and they blew up–in a good way.  I don’t think any of them (although I could be wrong) initially started their projects with the intent to have fame and fortune.  They just wanted to do something cool.  I want to be one of these people.

I want something I make, something I create, something I design to better the world somehow.  I know that sounds selfish, but I specifically chose my examples because you haven’t heard of them.  I didn’t include Mark Zuckerberg, or C.S. Lewis, or anyone else who’s a household name.  I do want my name to become a household name, don’t get me wrong.  But I care more about if whatever I do is a household name and is making people happy.

I suppose that even little things, even if they’re not recognized, can make the world better little by little.  Changing one person for the better, or the happier, can make a difference, too.  So here’s my obligatory nod to Father’s Day:  Here’s a shout out to all the dads who make little differences every single day.

I still want to be famous.  I still want world-changing ideas.  I still want the ability and the chance to do something.  I just don’t know what.

Leave a Reply

