A Shtick in the Mud

I haven’t been doing very well at the whole writing-every-day thing.  In fact, I’ve been doing very poorly.  I want to say it’s because I don’t know what to write about, but really it’s because I’m unmotivated and pretty lazy.  But I also don’t have much to write about.  I think of random topics every so often, but I need a shtick.

For those of you who don’t know, a shtick is “an attention-getting or theatrical routine, gimmick, or talent.”  I need something I can come back to day after day, something that’s interesting and funny and maybe even helpful or inspiring.  But I don’t have anything.  I’m stuck.  I know, I know, I’m writing for me, not to get readers, but I’m just conceited enough to want a decent amount of readers.

I’m watching the movie Julie & Julia, and it inspired me to find something to write about.  Sadly, all I’ve been able to do is whine about not knowing what to write about.  In the movie, the protagonist cooks her way through a Julia Child cookbook in one year.  She blogs about it, and gets lots of followers.  Sadly, I can’t really cook.  So that’s out.  But I’m not incredibly passionate about anything.  I suppose I could blog about crafting, or writing, or stupid people, but I feel as though that’s all been done before.  I want to be unique.  And interesting.  And the best at whatever I decide to do.  It’s the curse of perfectionism: not doing anything because nothing is better than an imperfect something.

So I suppose I’ll keep thinking, keep hoping something will hit me over the head (preferably not literally) and spark an idea to get me out of the mud and onto a jet ski.  Until then, you’ll have to put up with my random ideas.  I hope at least some of them are winners.

Leave a Reply

